Concert: Leids Barok Ensemble

Concert: Leids Barok Ensemble

May 29, 2014

Tickets £10/£8
Leyden Baroque Ensemble (Netherlands) with Scottish mezzo-soprano Nicola Wemyss
Music by: Avison, Händel, Richter, Telemann

The Leyden Baroque Ensemble from Holland, established in 1988, makes its Scottish debut with mezzo-soprano Nicola Wemyss. The Ensemble specializes in early music from 1600 to approximately 1775: spectacular music composed for the Royal courts, or for festivals and celebrations; spiritual contemplative music for religious events; and inspiring tunes for everyday life, for dancing and relaxation. The number of fine composers and excellent compositions is almost unlimited. The authentic instruments and natural gut strings that the Ensemble uses provide the bright and lively sound so characteristic for this period.
The Ensemble presents Scottish mezzo-soprano Nicola Wemyss, who hails from near St Andrews. She graduated with honours from Birmingham Conservatoire and completed her postgraduate degree specializing in Early Music and Historical Performance Practice at the Royal Conservatory of The Hague, where she studied with Rita Dams and Marius van Altena.
Leiden Baroque Ensemble
Violin: Roelof Balk (leader), Wiveka Elion, Ard Groot, Wibe Moll, Barbara Swarthout - ten Kate, Lise Heide-Jørgensen
Viola: Stan van Heijst, Matthieu van Gelderen
Cello: Susan Lambrechtsen, Eric Matser
Double Bass: Ellen de Graaff
Harpsichord: Theo Goedhart


View full calendar

Permanent link to this article: